Site Menu


About Torchwood the TV Series

Torchwood first aired in 2006 as a Doctor Who spin-off on BBC Three. The first three series were made by BBC Wales. The latest series Miracle Day was a co-production between the BBC and Starz Entertainment. The ending to Miracle Day suggested a bigger threat was on its way however a fifth series has yet to be announced.

Torchwood A Brief History

Torchwood is a Doctor Who spin-off. The Torchwood institute and the story behind it originally featured in series two of Doctor Who. Find out about the history and why Queen Victoria formed Torchwood in our themes section.

Torchwood series 1-3 were set in modern-day Cardiff and starred John Barrowman as Captain Jack from Doctor Who. The Torchwood three team were a renegade group of alien investigators.