Site Menu

Class Episode Guide

Class Series 1

Class series 1 is made up of 8 x 45 minute episodes that are available to watch online on BBC Three/iPlayer. Class will start airing on BBC One 9th January at 10.45pm

For Tonight We Might Die

  • Written by: Patrick Ness
  • Online release date: 22nd October 2016 – 10am*

Episode 1 of 8 – For Tonight We Might Die Episode Synopsis

It’s a new term at Coal Hill Academy, and students are preparing for their Autumn Prom. But when the school comes under attack from the monstrous Shadow Kin, four alienated students must form an unlikely alliance to defeat them.

Charlie, April, Ram and Tanya, assisted by their physics teacher Miss Quill, are now charged with a great responsibility by the mysterious alien known as ‘The Doctor’: to guard against the creatures of nightmare, who want nothing more than to find a way through to Earth and take it for their own.

And this incursion is only the beginning…

The Coach With The Dragon Tattoo

  • Written by: Patrick Ness
  • Online release date: 22nd October 2016 – 10am*

Episode 2 of 8 – For Tonight We Might Die Episode Synopsis

Following the tragic events at the Prom, a devastated Ram isolates himself from the other three as he struggles with his new reality. Desperate to hold himself together on the football pitch, when he thinks he witnesses someone getting skinned alive he’s convinced he’s cracking up.

But when Tanya, Charlie and April are all confronted with the same thing: a horrific, monstrous, skin-peeling dragon, they know that they’re under attack. The gang must pull together to fight against the monster, and try to keep Coal Hill safe.


  • Written by: Patrick Ness
  • Online release date: 29th October 2016 – 10am*

Episode 3 of 8 – Nightvisiting Synopsis

London is infiltrated by an eerie alien with the ability to morph into the shape of lost loved ones.

Tanya has an unexpected visitor come to her window in the dead of night – and she’s not the only one, as Ram and Miss Quill face their own startling visitors.

Confronted with these emotional encounters, the team must overcome the persuasion of this strange new threat, and battle through the streets to stop Tanya from being lost forever.

Co-Owner of a Lonely Heart

  • Written by: Patrick Ness
  • Online release date: 5th November 2016 – 10am*

Episode 4 of 8 – Co-Owner of a Lonely Heart Synopsis

April starts to feel effects of sharing her heart with Corakinus, and his attempts to sever the attachment only make it stronger.

When April’s estranged father makes a startling appearance she confronts him with Shadow Kin force, manifesting traits of the Shadow Kin leader.

Frightened by this extraordinary new-found power, April seeks comfort in Ram, and vows to reclaim her heart as her own.

Meanwhile, something strange is happening to the others – London is slowly being infested with unusual, sinister flower petals.

Brave-ish Heart

  • Written by: Patrick Ness
  • Online release date: 12th November 2016 – 10am*

Episode 5 of 8 – Brave-ish Heart Synopsis

Battling through the Shadow Kin realm, April knows that there is no going back: she has to defeat Corakinus.

On Earth, the invasion of the petals is rapidly snowballing. Confronted with the threat of the planet’s extinction, new headmistress Dorothea attempts to force Charlie into making a transformational decision. But Miss Quill has other ideas for him.

As Charlie, Matteusz and Tanya try to stop the petals from annihilating the human race, April must fight the terrifying force of Corakinus, light years away from home.


  • Written by: Patrick Ness
  • Online release date: 19th November 2016 – 10am*

Episode 6 of 8 – Detained Synopsis

The whole gang is thrown into detention by Miss Quill. Locked in her classroom, they are terrified when an explosion propels them out of space and time: trapped, claustrophobic and floating in blackness with no way of escape.

Although a mysterious asteroid fragment may be their key to freedom, it forces the gang to confess their deepest, darkest secrets to one another. As ugly truths come out, fractures start to appear in the friendship group.

And then they make a chilling discovery. They’re not alone. There’s somebody in there with them.

The Metaphysical Engine, or What Quill Did

  • Written by: Patrick Ness
  • Online release date: 26th November 2016 – 10am*

Episode 7 of 8 – The Metaphysical Engine, or What Quill Did Synopsis

With the gang trapped in detention and out of the way, Miss Quill accepts Dorothea’s astonishing offer: to help remove the Arn from her head, and to reclaim her freedom.

Alongside Ballon, an imprisoned shape-shifter, Miss Quill travels in a metaphysical engine and is taken to impossible, extraordinary and dangerous worlds, collecting materials in preparation for her life-changing procedure.

After an emotional encounter with her surgeon and a nearly-fatal operation, Miss Quill must find a way to return to Earth: transformed and ready for war.

The Lost

  • Written by: Patrick Ness
  • Online release date: 3rd December 2016 – 10am*

Episode 8 of 8 – The Lost Synopsis

Facing an impossible choice, our heroes must use all they’ve learnt to save Earth. But how far are they prepared to go? And will they have to pay a price?

Unable to recover from the truths they have faced, the gang has splintered. Liberated from enslavement, Quill prepares to take her revenge.

But they must reunite when the Shadow Kin return, raging a ruthless, unrelenting war.

Resolute to claim April’s heart and Charlie’s weapon, Corakinus threatens to kill their families until he has what he desires – and the friends must fight to prevent him.

This time, not everyone will make it out alive.

* Episodes were advertised as being available online from this time, some were put online earlier.

Where to Watch Class

Visit the official Class website to find out where you can watch it worldwide.